My First Birchbox – Birchbox May 2017 Review

My First Birchbox Birchbox May 2017 Review Birchbox May 2017 ReviewThere are Beauty Subscription Boxes aplenty at the moment, new ones seem to be popping up all the time.  For me 2 of the original and highly rated boxes have to be Glossybox and Birchbox, they have stood the test of ‘Beauty Subscription Box time’ and still offer quality brands and products month to month.  When I started Blogging I chose to try Glossybox over Birchbox and am still in love with Glossybox over 2 years later.  As I have started reviewing quite a few subscription boxes on my Blog I felt like now would be a great time to try Birchbox and see what I have been missing all this time……so here is my First Birchbox and the 5 beauty products inside their May Edition.


Birchbox May 2017 Review My First Birchbox Review

The Box itself – to be honest as soon as I saw the dusky pink/rose gold and marble looking box on Instagram it was the deciding factor for me to sign up there and then, I am such a sucker for marble packaging and I have to say I love this little box.  I really like how its a slide open box and that its about half the size of my Glossybox.  I am going to keep this box and use it store things, of what I haven’t decided yet but it’s certainly not going to look out of place on my desk, its adorable.


Laura Mercier Radiance Primer

Laura Mercier Foundation Primer Radiance

My Holy Grail Foundation Primer, I swear by Laura Mercier for many products and in particular I think her primers are the best out there, they are Beauty Classics for a reason.  I normally use either her ‘original formula’ or the ‘hydrating formula’ so this ‘radiance version’ is a nice change.  It claims to add a subtle, radiant glow to the skin and I have to say that I used it for the first time today and I am super impressed.  There is a subtle difference but its still a difference, and my skin has had a lovely slight glow to it all day, its also held my foundation in place very well in the heat, I really really like this.


Birchbox May 2017 Review

Beauty Protector – Protect and Volume, Volume Spray

My hair is pretty lacklustre at the moment so I welcome any help with it, especially one claiming to add some volume.  This sweet-smelling spritz is supposed to add shine and volume to lifeless locks without adding the stickiness.  Not only is it paraben-free but it is also vegan and a thermal protector, so ideal for using with GHD’s or before a hairdryer.  I will certainly be giving this a good try.


Birchbox May 2017 Review

Whish Firming Body Cream

With Beach Holidays just around the corner, this product couldn’t have been more perfectly timed, I am all about anything that claims to firm the body or face.  This body firming cream should soften and protect the skin as well as firming and toning to even out the skin, ideal for any blemishes or marks.  This is down to the ingredients of cocoa seed butter, green tea and my favourite organic shea butter.  It smells lovely and absorbed straight into my skin when I tested some earlier, its non-greasy or sticky and left my skin feeling moisturised and fresh, this is heading straight to my cellulite to test the firming claim.


Birchbox May 2017 Review Birchbox May 2017 Review Birchbox May 2017 Review

Marsk – Mineral Eyeshadow in Vanilla Frosting

I was able to choose the shade I wanted for this product which was between a smokey grey shade or a white frosting shade, I chose the latter mainly because I don’t tend to wear a smokey eye that often and I like anything that will brighten my small, deep-set eyes.  Its highly pigmented and certainly looks like white frosting, a little goes a long way but it is also very blendable.  This shade is great for the inner eye or underneath a light eyeshadow to help the colour ‘pop’ more.  Made from natural ingredients this is perfect for anyone with sensitive eyes.  You can apply this dry, or wet for a more intense look.


Birchbox May 2017 Review Birchbox May 2017 Review

Doucce Punk Volumizer Mascara

I am always happy to receive a new mascara in a beauty box and I am still on the quest for my Holy Grail so I am really keen to give this one a try.  The wand is a jumbo fibre wand which claims to add volume and the thickness to mimic a set of false lashes, this sounds right up my street and my kind of mascara, plus I love the name.

Birchbox May 2017 Review

My overall thoughts on my first Birchbox???…….what took me so long to subscribe?!  This was a great box full of quality products that I know I will use.  Getting a Laura Mercier Primer did give it an edge as I love her primers but I am also really keen to give the Beauty Protector Volume Spray and the Punk Volumizer Mascara a good go – guess I will be incredibly ‘volumized’ after those hopefully!  But so far I am really impressed with Birchbox and I can’t wait to share my June Box with you.

Birchbox Subscription Details:  Birchbox is a Beauty Subscription Box giving you 5 personalised beauty products each month which are tailored to your Beauty Profile that you fill in when you join. They offer various subscription offers such as pay-as-you go monthly subscription at £10.00 (plus £2.95 p&p) per month, or you can pay upfront for a 6 or 12 month plan to save money.  They also have a Birchbox Shop on their website with some great monthly offers which is also always worth a peek.

BIRCHBOX UK

 

*some posts may contain PR/Gifted Samples, for further information please see my disclaimer.

Follow:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *